Lead turns up in most protein powders sold in the United States, yet no federal limit says how much is too much. Consumer testing, state legislation, and retailer scrutiny have now pushed that gap into public view.

With heavy metals in protein powder now under scrutiny, each brand has to decide what to test, which method to specify, and which limit to meet. This guide covers all three, drawing on published test data, current regulations, and laboratory benchmarks.

Key takeaways

  • No federal limit exists for lead in protein powder. FDA judges concern against interim reference levels of 2.2 µg/day for children and 8.8 µg/day for women of childbearing age.
  • Consumer Reports found that more than two-thirds of 23 products exceeded its 0.5 µg/day lead threshold in one serving. Plant-based products averaged nine times the lead of dairy-based ones.
  • Flavor is not a shortcut. Consumer Reports found similar average lead in chocolate and vanilla products, though cocoa remains a cadmium source.
  • ICP-MS (FDA EAM 4.7 or equivalent) is the standard method for lead, cadmium, arsenic, and mercury. HPLC-ICP-MS speciation separates inorganic arsenic in rice-based formulas.
  • Required LOQ depends on dose. A 30 g once-daily serving would need to stay at or below about 16.7 µg/kg lead to meet the Prop 65 level.
  • California SB 1033, which would have required lot-level testing and public disclosure, stalled in Senate Appropriations in May 2026.

Why Is Protein Powder Under Scrutiny?

In October 2025, Consumer Reports (CR) tested 23 protein powders and ready-to-drink shakes, sampling two to four lots of each. More than two-thirds delivered more lead in one serving than experts consider safe for a full day, some by more than 10 times. Plant-based products averaged nine times the lead of dairy-based ones.

CR set its “level of concern” at 0.5 µg of lead per day, which mirrors California’s Prop 65 safe harbor. The Council for Responsible Nutrition pushed back in its response to CR, noting that exceeding a self-set threshold is not the same as breaching a government limit. Earlier in 2025, the Clean Label Project reported that 47% of 160 protein products exceeded Prop 65 thresholds for toxic metals.

However, low levels are achievable. In a January 2026 follow-up, all five chocolate powders CR tested fell within its daily-use threshold. The difference comes down to sourcing and verification, and both start with heavy metals testing.

How Heavy Metals Enter Protein Powder

Metals enter protein powder through the crop, the flavor system, the animal, and the plant floor. Each route needs its own control.

Entry routeMain metalsApplies to
Crop uptake from soil and waterCadmium, lead, arsenicPea, rice, soy, and other plant proteins
Cocoa, before harvestCadmiumChocolate and mocha flavors
Cocoa, after harvestLeadChocolate and mocha flavors
Animal feed and processingVariesWhey, casein, beef and egg proteins; all formats

Plants grown in contaminated fields accumulate toxic elements, and a 2025 study lists worn equipment, trace chemicals, and animal feed as further sources—one reason why plant-based foods demand strict laboratory testing. In cocoa, research summarized by ZHAW shows cadmium comes mainly from soil uptake by the tree, while lead lands on beans as dust during fermentation and drying. Flavor alone does not predict lead levels, however. CR found no meaningful difference in average lead between its chocolate and vanilla products, at 17.3 and 15.4 ppb.

The pattern is not fixed. A European study of 90 supplements found higher lead in animal-based products and higher cadmium in plant-based ones. Results vary by product and lot, not by protein type alone.

The Regulatory Picture: No Federal Limit, Four Benchmarks

No federal action level exists for lead in protein powder. The FDA instead uses its interim reference levels (IRLs) to judge whether a food or supplement poses a potential concern. Brands work against four benchmarks that differ by an order of magnitude. Every benchmark is a daily dose. Labs report µg/kg, so serving size decides compliance as much as purity does.

BenchmarkLead (µg/day)Cadmium (µg/day)Inorganic arsenic (µg/day)Status
California Prop 65 safe harbor0.54.110Warning required above it in California
FDA interim reference level2.2 (children); 8.8 (women of childbearing age)Not setNot setDaily dietary intake target, not a product limit
USP <2232> permitted daily exposure5515Voluntary unless a product claims USP conformance
Consumer Reports level of concern0.5Not stated hereNot stated hereNon-regulatory
Sources: OEHHA lead; OEHHA cadmium; inorganic arsenic, Banach et al.; FDA IRLs and CR, NPR; USP <2232>, Thermo Fisher.
For how warnings and safe harbors work in practice, see our guide to California Proposition 65 testing.

What Federal Law Already Requires

Supplement makers must set contamination limits for each component and each finished batch under 21 CFR 111.70. In a 2021 warning letter to Western Herb Products, the FDA rejected specifications that failed to name which heavy metals they covered. Our expert-led piece on how contract labs support dietary supplement compliance covers the wider Part 111 picture.

California SB 1033

California tried to close the disclosure gap in 2026: Senate Bill 1033 would have required manufacturers to test protein products for heavy metals, publicly disclose results, and stop selling noncompliant products. The bill appears to have stalled for this session, though it could return in a future one. As amended, the bill would have required lot-level testing for arsenic, cadmium, lead, and mercury from January 1, 2028, with results posted online, according to an analysis by Keller and Heckman. It followed California’s baby food disclosure law.

Core Analytes and Test Methods

The core testing panel is lead, cadmium, arsenic, and mercury by ICP-MS after closed-vessel microwave digestion. Inorganic arsenic speciation applies to rice-based or high-arsenic formulas.

AnalyteMethodWhen
Lead, cadmium, total arsenic, total mercuryICP-MS after microwave digestion (FDA EAM 4.7 or validated equivalent)Every raw-material and finished lot
Inorganic arsenicHPLC-ICP-MS speciation (FDA EAM 4.10/4.11 approach)Rice protein, or total arsenic above a set trigger

The FDA uses this same two-tier logic in its Total Diet Study: It runs EAM 4.7 broadly, then speciates arsenic in rice-containing foods when total arsenic exceeds a set level. Older techniques, such as atomic absorption spectroscopy and ICP-OES, may not quantify low enough. A “not detected” result from a high-LOQ method proves little.

Linking the LOQ to the Daily Dose

The concentration a laboratory must be able to quantify follows from the daily limit:

Maximum concentration (µg/kg) = daily limit (µg/day) ÷ [serving size (g) × servings per day] × 1,000

For a 30 g serving used once a day, the 0.5 µg/day Prop 65 lead level works out to about 16.7 µg/kg in the finished powder. At two servings a day, the ceiling drops to about 8.3 µg/kg. A result can demonstrate compliance only when the lab’s LOQ for lead sits below that ceiling.

The baby food sector offers a tested benchmark: The Baby Food Council asks labs to quantify arsenic, cadmium, and lead to at least 6 µg/kg and to report numbers instead of zeros. Our analysis of the Closer to Zero mandate and heavy metal testing sensitivity explains why that threshold matters.

Elements of a Heavy Metals Testing Program

Heavy metals testing programs in the supplement sector generally combine five elements, tied to per-serving limits written into specifications.

  1. Product profiling: Protein source, flavor, serving size, maximum servings per day, and target markets set both the exposure calculation and the applicable benchmark.
  2. Written specifications: 21 CFR 111.70 requires contamination limits for each component and each finished batch of a dietary supplement. Naming each element gives those limits a testable form.
  3. Incoming material verification: In one warning letter, the FDA cited a firm that built its specifications on supplier certificates with no contamination limits. Independent ICP-MS testing of incoming plant protein and cocoa lots is one way firms confirm those certificates. Our guide to raw material testing without a USP monograph covers the process.
  4. Finished-lot verification: Part 111 allows verification of every batch or a subset chosen through a sound statistical sampling plan. SB 1033 would have required testing of every lot.
  5. Trending and change control: Results tracked by supplier, region, and season reveal shifts that single pass/fail results miss. Sourcing changes matter too: A premium plant-based protein brand moved its pea protein sourcing to North America, noting that metal levels in plant proteins reflect the soil they grow in.

The same records support responses to a Prop 65 notice, a retailer audit, or a media inquiry.

How Heavy Metals Laboratories Are Evaluated

The Baby Food Council’s lab criteria offer a reference point: Single-digit µg/kg quantification, blinded proficiency results, and numeric reporting. Proficiency varies widely, though.

CriterionWhat it shows
ISO/IEC 17025 scope covering ICP-MS for this matrixThe method itself is accredited for protein powder
Stated LODs and LOQs in protein powderWhether results can be quantified at single-digit µg/kg
Recent blinded proficiency resultsz-scores within ±2 indicate acceptable performance in a round
HPLC-ICP-MS arsenic speciationCapacity to separate inorganic arsenic in rice-based samples

For background on accreditation, see ISO 17025 accredited laboratories. For a structured supplier review, see our guide to contract laboratory vendor audits.

Connect on Contract Laboratory

Contract Laboratory connects you with accredited labs that run ICP-MS heavy metals panels and arsenic speciation on supplement matrices.
Submit a lab request and compare proposals on method, LOQ, accreditation scope, and turnaround.

Supplement and protein brands regularly post heavy metals and contaminant projects on the board. Labs that publish their LOQs and proficiency results may stand out as disclosure rules tighten.
Browse open lab requests or register your lab to respond.

This article was created with the assistance of Generative AI and has undergone editorial review before publishing.

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

1. Is there a legal limit for lead in protein powder in the US?

No federal limit exists. The FDA judges potential concern against its interim reference levels of 2.2 µg/day for children and 8.8 µg/day for women of childbearing age. California requires a Prop 65 warning above 0.5 µg/day of lead. Supplement makers must also set their own contamination limits under 21 CFR 111.70.

2. Why do plant-based protein powders test higher for lead?

Crops absorb metals from soil, water, and air, and processing steps can add more. Consumer Reports measured nine times more lead on average in plant-based products than in dairy-based ones. A European study found the reverse pattern for lead, so results differ by product and market.

3. Do chocolate protein powders contain more heavy metals?

Not necessarily for lead. CR’s 2025 tests found no meaningful difference in average lead between chocolate and vanilla products. Cocoa is still a known cadmium source because the trees take it up from the soil.

4. Which test methods measure heavy metals in protein powder?

ICP-MS after closed-vessel microwave digestion measures lead, cadmium, arsenic, and mercury, with FDA EAM 4.7 as the reference method. HPLC-ICP-MS speciation separates inorganic arsenic in rice protein or high total-arsenic samples.

5. How often is protein powder tested for heavy metals?

Part 111 allows supplement makers to verify every finished batch or a statistically justified subset. SB 1033 would have required lot-level testing for protein products sold in California.

6. What should a heavy metals COA include?

A heavy metals COA typically covers five things: a lot number that matches your stock, the method cited (such as EAM 4.7), a numeric value or “<LOQ” with the LOQ stated for each element, units you can convert to µg per serving, and the lab’s accreditation details. Our certificate of analysis guide walks through each field.

7. What happened to California SB 1033?

It stalled. The Senate Appropriations Committee held it on May 14, 2026, with no later action. As amended, it would have required lot-level testing for arsenic, cadmium, lead, and mercury from January 1, 2028. Brands would have reported to the California Department of Public Health and posted lot-specific results online. Noncompliant products could not have been sold in California, according to Keller and Heckman’s analysis and Sen. Padilla’s office.

Sources and Further Reading
  1. KOTA / Consumer Reports. Consumer Reports Investigation: More protein powders get tested. January 13, 2026.
  2. Horváth IL, Kajner G, Galbács G, Csupor D. Analysis of heavy metal content in protein powders available on the Hungarian market. Journal of Nutritional Science. 2025;14:e49.
  3. Quantifying lead and cadmium in protein supplements: Insights into dietary exposure and health risks. Journal of Food Composition and Analysis. 2025.
  4. ZHAW Institute of Food and Beverage Innovation. Study suggests ways to reduce cadmium and lead in chocolates. October 4, 2022.
  5. California OEHHA. Proposition 65: Cadmium safe harbor levels.
  6. California OEHHA. Pre-regulatory draft on the lead MADL. August 2015.
  7. Banach et al., heavy metals standards table. PMC10582040, Table 2.
  8. Thermo Fisher Scientific. Application Note 43445: Analysis of trace elements in nutraceuticals in compliance with USP chapter <2232>. 2017.
  9. Legal Information Institute. 21 CFR § 111.70: What specifications must you establish?
  10. eCFR. 21 CFR Part 111, Subpart E.
  11. U.S. FDA. Warning letter: Western Herb Products, Inc., MARCS-CMS 615439. December 7, 2021.
  12. U.S. FDA. Warning letter citing reliance on supplier COAs.
  13. Office of Sen. Steve Padilla. State Senate Committee Votes to Protect Consumers from Heavy Metals in Protein Products. April 23, 2026.
  14. Keller and Heckman, The Daily Intake. California’s SB 1033 Would Require Heavy Metal Disclosures for Protein Products. February 2026.

Author

  • Swathi Kodaikal, MSc, holds a master’s degree in biotechnology and has worked in places where actual science and research happen. Blending her love for writing with science, Swathi enjoys demystifying complex research findings for readers from all walks of life. On the days she's not writing, she learns and performs Kathak, sings, makes plans to travel, and obsesses over cleanliness.

    View all posts